Aug 15-18, 2019        Bratislava

All about shogi at

Shogi-L and 81Dojo

Sponsored by

The portal to the wonderful world of shogi.


トーマス &

Print      Feed 

Last updated

23 Mar 2019
5:48 pm


  • Ratings and tournament results updated (Mar 23 2019)

    A new preliminary rating list as of 2019-03-10 is available. The first tournament results of 2019 are also in.

    Please note that there has been an update of the tournament results and rating lists of 2018 as well. Some missing tournaments were added and there have been some name corrections.

  • ESC/WOSC 2019 in Bratislava, August 15th to August 18th, ESC/WOSC 2020 in Minsk (Aug 14, 2018)

    ESC/WOSC 2019 will be held in Bratislava from August 15th to August 18th. The venue will be Hotel Sorea Regia, Kralovske udolie 6, Bratislava.
    The event's webpage with some basic information is already online:
    Facebook event

    ESC/WOSC 2020 will be held in Minsk, Belarus.

  • ESC/WOSC 2018 - Thomas Leiter European champion 2018 (Aug 14, 2018)

    This years European Shogi Championship/World Open Shogi Championship (ESC/WOSC) was held between July 26th and July 29th in Berlin at the Japanese-German Center. The 128 participants in the WOSC marked a new participants record. Official representative of the Japanese Shogi Federation was Mr. Akio Ishikawa (7-dan). Additionally professional players attending the event were Mr. Shohei Takada (7-dan) and Ms. Madoka Kitao (ladies professional 2-dan).

    Thomas Leiter managed to gain his second title after 2012 (Krakow) by beating Jean Fortin in the final. Two Belarusian players were fighting for the third place, where last year's European champion Vincent Tanyan won against Peter Shcheslionok .

    The WOSC was clearly won by Hideaki Takahashi with 9 wins out of 9 rounds. 2nd place went to Thomas Leiter with 8/9 and 3rd place to Vincent Tanyan 6/9 with better opponents score ahead 6 other players with the same score.

    The blitz tournament (72 participants) was played with the participation of the professional players (who gave a 2 piece handicap to everyone). 1st place was taken by Vincent Tanyan ahead of Thomas Leiter and Maxim Shaporov .

    The team tournament was full in the hand of the Belarusian teams. Team 'Belarus Minsk' (Tanyan Vincent, Maxim Shaporov, Uladzislau Zakrzheuski) took the first place, second became 'Belarus 1' (Peter Shcheslionok, Anton Starikevich, Ivan Martsev) and third place went to international team 'ISPS' (Masahiro Kito, Toshio Kohari, Terje Christoffersen).

    The dobutsu shogi tournament was won by Marco Dietmayer , 2nd Rainer Staberhofer and 3rd Anton Starikevich .


  • ESC/WOSC 2018, already more than 100 participants registered (Jul 1, 2018)

    It is still a few weeks until the ESC/WOSC in Berlin, but there are already 103 participants registered by July 1st. A new participants record could be expected.
    Please check the tournament's webpage for information and for registration:

  • European Youth Shogi Championship 2018 (Jul 1, 2018)

    The European Youth Shogi Championship 2018 was held this year again in Wroclaw, Poland from June 29th until July 1st 2018. There were four age groups (U9, U12, U15, U18) and a side tournament.
    The winners were:
    U 9 (7 participants)
    1. Alexey Budkevich (BLR) 2. Dmitry Chernashevich (BLR) 3. Ekaterina Shvadronova (BLR)
    U 12 (11 participants)
    1. Marc-Leon Engelmann (GER) 2. Jan-Lukas Engelmann (GER) 3. Ilya Tareev (BLR)
    U 15 (7 participants)
    1. Ivan Martsev (BLR) 2. Michal Mordarski (POL) 3. Lukasz Marczak (POL)
    U 18 (15 participants)
    1. Maxim Shaparov (BLR) 2. Anton Starikevich (BLR) 3. Alexey Lavrinovich (BLR)

    Open tournament (11 participants)
    1. Sergei Lysenka (BLR) 2. Adam Dziwoki (POL) 3. Roman Milosz (POL)

  • Website for ESC/WOSC 2018 online (Jan 29 2018)

    The website for the ESC/WOSC 2018 in Berlin is online. Please have a look at
    It is also possible to register already.

  • ESC/WOSC 2018 in Berlin, July 26th to July 29th, ESC/WOSC 2019 in Bratislava (Aug 19, 2017)

    The ESC/WOSC 2018 will be held in Berlin from July 26th to July 29th. The venue will be the Japanese-German Center Berlin ( More information and the tournament website will be available in a few weeks.

    At the FESA meeting in Kiev it was decided that the ESC/WOSC 2019 will be held in Bratislava, Slovakia.

  • ESC/WOSC 2017 - Vincent Tanyan new European champion (Aug 11, 2017)

    Kiev (Ukraine) was the venue for the European Shogi Championship/World Open Shogi Championship (ESC/WOSC) between August 3rd and August 6th. This time there were 66 participants in the main tournament. Professional guests were Yaoichi Ono (7-dan) and Madoka Kitao (ladies professional 2-dan).

    This years ESC saw a Belarusian final between Vincent Tanyan and Sergey Korchitsky . 18 year old Vincent managed to secure his first European title. The match for the third place showed a very long game between Thomas Leiter and Marco Dietmayer , which Thomas managed to win with Jishogi (28-26 points).

    Shun Tokuni won the title in the WOSC with 8 wins out of 9 rounds, 2nd place went to Sergey Korchitsky with 7/9 and 3rd place to Thomas Leiter also 7/9.

    Shun Tokuni won also the blitz tournament (42 participants) ahead of Vincent Tanyan and Thomas Leiter .

    The team tournament (14 teams) was won by the Austrian team 'Dyululu' (Marco Dietmayer, Rainer Staberhofer, Andreas Diermair) ahead of 'Belarus' (Vincent Tanyan, Maxim Shaporov, Anton Starikevich) and 'Better of Ukraine' (Sergei Krivoshey, Sergey Stavroyani, Andriy Paliy).

    The dobutsu shogi tournament (22 participants) was won by Thomas Leiter , 2nd Rainer Staberhofer and 3rd Shun Tokuni .

    Complete results tables
    Rating results table

  • European Youth Shogi Championship 2017 (Jul 27, 2017)

    The First European Youth Shogi Championship was held in Wroclaw, Poland from 21st to 23rd July 2017. There were four age groups (U9, U12, U15, U18).
    The winners were:
    U 9 (12 participants)
    1. Pavel Zhuravlev (BLR) 2. Jan-Lukas Engelmann (GER) 3. Dmitry Chernashevich (BLR)
    U 12 (11 participants)
    1. Denis Titov (RUS) 2. Matvey Degtyar (BLR) 3. Kai Bruegmann (GER)
    U 15 (11 participants)
    1. Ivan Martsev (BLR) 2. Eric Klein (GER) 3. Alexey Lavrinovich (BLR)
    U 18 (8 participants)
    1. Adam Wozniak (POL) 2. Maxim Shaparov (BLR) 3. Karol Stanclik (POL)

    There was also an open tournament with 22 participants, with the following results:
    1. Uladislau Zakrzheuski (BLR) 2. Sergei Lysenka (BLR) 3. Adam Dziwoki (POL)